Rain, rain go away? Nope, just cruisin’!

Posted: May 12, 2010 in love
Tags: , ,

First of all, my heart goes out to all the folks in middle-Tennessee. If you haven’t been listening lately, those in and around Nashville have been devastated with flooding over the last week. We should all be in prayer about what God can and will do with this crisis, as well as what part can we play in their story of clean up….and would glorify Him.

The last two days in south-central Kansas have been stormy wet! The sound of rain, that usually really makes me relaxed, has been replaced by pounding thunder, winds and rain. All of this reminds me of how my daily life can be. It can be sedate and routine, cruising if you will. In those times, I feel God is giving me such peace, beyond my own understanding. These days (and nights) allow me to focus on God in a different way. In a way that is so different than the days of life’s storms. See Mark 4:17

Like most people who call themselves “Christians”, I too rely (more like lean) on God during the loud, wet and troubled days. Sometimes those days consume me and all the thing around me, including my family. But over the last year, the troubled days have been balanced, almost canceled, by God’s peace, grace and unfailing love that I’ve seen in the quiet of the “cruising” days of life.

How do you balance your days of “cruising” verses the “stormy” days?

-Tom

Leave a Reply

