life change, sorrow and death

Posted: March 20, 2009 in death, God
Tags: , , ,

Death is something that as a Christian we are taught is a “good thing” because if you are saved then leaving this life means that you are with God in heaven for eternity. That is a whole lot better then going to hell but death can still be a scary thing.

In the last week, two young people from our area passed away in automobile related accidents. My heart has sunk to a lower low than it’s been in quite sometime.  Having children the exact same ages as both of these girls made it even more real to me. Both were connected to my family in different but similar ways. 

 I was not devastated because I saw them every so often or even talked to them all that often. I was devastated because they were young, and had their whole earthly life ahead of them. I thought of the sorrow that their parents, brothers and sisters must be facing knowing that they are never going to see their wonderful daughter or sister on this earth in person again.

I then begun to think about my wife and kids and how sad it would be for them if I were not around to see them grow up. It was a lot to take in. There is a time for mourning but you cannot stay there too long without it affecting you and those around you.

This morning I spent some time alone with God to just sort out what I was feeling and why.  In the stillness of  just “being in His presence”, I felt God’s comfort reminding me that this is a big world and although tragedy happens, He is still large and in charge.

I came to a couple of conclusions that allowed me to have some closure on the issue. If anything, it has given me time to reflect on my own life and to value it. It has allowed me to look at me life and the lives of my family and see how blessed we truly are.

Philippians 4:8-9 says –

8 Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.

9 Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me–put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.

What God helped me to realize was that even though these two beautiful girls were gone, I was still here. I needed to take a look around and see the blessing that were in my life and think about these things.

The mind is far more powerful then most people understand and we as Christians have to be in control of it. We can choose to dwell on death and sorrow or we can look at the good things that God has done for us.

There is a time and place for mourning, but stay there only as long as necessary because although someone may have left, you are still here.

-tom

Comments
  1. Joleen says:

    Yes, it was a hard week! Death, especially of young people, just reminds us that we are here but for a short time. But being in Church with other believers helps!

    Really enjoyed the song yesterday that you and Kim sang. Good words!
    :o)

Leave a Reply

