WWJW (what would Jesus want)?

Posted: November 22, 2008 in church, family, God, Jesus Christ, job, worship
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

During this week, I’ve read many things. Lots of bible, work articles and blog posts. As I looked and pondered Perry Noble’s post from this last Monday, I realized how much it was also about me and how I much approach my motives…..Hope spreading this will make you ask the same questions.

Oh, by the way, get your butt in a bible teaching worship experience tomorrow morning!

-tom

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

BAM…busted!  I am so guilty of times in my past where I prayed like crazy, raised my hands in worship, made HUGE promises and so on…but NOT because I was in awe of who He is…but rather I wanted something from Him and falsly assumed that if I did the right things and gave Him enough attention that He would finally break and fulfill my selfish desires.

BUT…God knows my heart!  He knows my mind!  He knows my motives…and He will not be tricked or deceived by empty worship.

One of the things I’ve been continually praying over the past year or so is for Jesus to continually make my motives pure…and if there is ANYTHING in me that is not of Him…to help me see it and get it out of my life.  It’s not the easiest process to go through…but it’s been incredibly liberating!

At the end of the day I am praying that I will not want what I think Jesus can give me…but simply just want Jesus!  It’s a battle…and I think there will always be a struggle to try and manipulate Him…but it simply cannot be done.

So…how about you…are you pursuing Jesus…OR are you just after what you believe He can give you?  Just something to think about today!  I wish I were an expert on this…but I am struggling just like most of you are.  However, in His grace, mercy and patience He is blowing my mind as I work through this…I hope you will work through this as well!


Comments
  1. drmetrick says:

    One of the most difficult things in the Christian walk is experiencing the “Yet not I, but Christ”–exchanged life experience, where it is no longer about me, but about Him and His will (period!).

    God Bless,
    Dr Rick
    author of theyawningchurch.com

Leave a Reply

