it’s all about the boot!

Posted: October 20, 2008 in friends, God

 

ok, it's the crutches too

ok, it's crutches too!

Well, it’s been almost 10 weeks now since that fateful day when that mean cast iron bathroom sink launched off my basement wall and found my right foot to protect it from hitting the floor and thereby breaking my first metatarsal. Since then, I’ve been in a foot cast for 4 weeks and then (thanks to Dr. Truong) he removed that smelly thing and put me into a walking boot. Unfortunately, I am still unable to put weight (Dr’s orders) on my broken foot. Glad to say that I see the Doc in two weeks for another x-ray and evaluation. Maybe I’ll be released to stroll just a little!

Ok, the point in all of this is this: When something like this happens and puts your usual life in a big holding pattern, it makes you (you have the time to) realize how much of your life is going right by you. However, the best part of all of it is that I am blessed by the kind words and actions of those around me who have challenged me to take it easy and let my foot heal. I don’t just “take it easy” very easily. But this event has taught me that it’s ok to not be in control of everything (that’s something else God is teaching me through this).

 

Of course thats because I’m not in control and He is. Thanks for the reminder!

-tom

Leave a Reply

