got credibility? keep repeating!

Posted: January 24, 2008 in biblical community, friends, RiverPoint

The Credibility of the Second Decade

trust.jpgIn the first decade, I was the young guy. People called me the “kid preacher.” They used to tell me,

“Keep practicing; you’ll be a good preacher one day.”As the church got off the ground, people would say:

  • “You’re just a kid. Why should I follow you?”
  • “You won’t be here long. You’ll leave for some bigger church one day soon.”
  • “You won’t last. You go too hard. You’ll burn out.”
  • “Your crazy ideas will never work.”

In the second decade, people believe me when I tell them I’m committed for life. They believe me when I tell them Amy and I have a good marriage. They believe me when I tell them I’m spiritually healthy and growing.

Integrity + Longevity = Great Influence

Now when I speak, I don’t have to shout for people to listen. I don’t have to be funny to get their attention. I don’t have to prove myself to gain credibility.

I praise God that I get to serve Him in the second decade!

How are you gaining credibility?

Keep praying, reading the word, listening THEN, repeat!! Thanks Brad for being my friend, pastor and spiritual leader!!!

God Rocks!

-tom

Comments
  1. John Z says:

    LEARNING HOW HARD TO KEEP CREDIBILITY… THE X FACTOR AND CHAOS AND NOTHING LOAST FOREVER..BUT IF YOU BELIEVE IN CHRIST AND EVERLASTING LOVE THATS FaITH AN NOBODY CAN LOWER THAN CREDIBILITY!

Leave a Reply

